Development of WINDS for (p,n) measurements in inverse kinematics

Ken Yako (CNS)



EMIS2012 Dec 5, 2012

Extending Charge-X reactions

 Charge exchange reactions at intermediate energies
 ⇒ excellent spectroscopic tool of spin-isospin (ΔT=ΔS=1) excitations

Intermediate energies

Simple reaction mechanism
 t_{στ} is the largest apart from t₀^C.
 ⇒ GT transitions are most clearly seen.

Aim: extending the (p,n) work on unstable nuclei (at RIBF-RIKEN).





resolution of $\delta E_x \sim 1 \text{ MeV}$, $\delta \theta_{cm} \sim 1 \text{ deg} \Rightarrow \delta E_n \sim 0.8 \text{ MeV}$, $\delta \theta_{lab} \sim 1.3 \text{ deg}$

Overview of the (p,n) facility







First experiment: ¹²Be(p,n) reaction

- Beam line: BigRIPS + SHARAQ
- Primary beam: ¹⁸O 250A MeV, 100-200 pnA
 - ¹/₄ -freq. buncher @RILAC... pulse separation of 122 ns
- Primary target: Be, 20 mm^t
- Secondary beam: ¹²Be 200A MeV, 0.5 - 1 Mcps on target beam size $\Delta x = 7$ mm (in σ) $\Delta y = 5$ mm
- Secondary target: Liq H₂, 14 mm^t

Beam

- securing the TOF window: 1/4 prescaled by beam buncher @RILAC
- beamline detectors



SHARAQ

SHARAQ ...high-resolution magnetic spectrometer constructed at RIBF by UT - RIKEN collaboration.

Maximum rigidity 6.8 Tm Momentum resolution dp/p = 1/14700Angular resolution ~ 1 mrad Momentum acceptance $\pm 1\%$ Angular acceptance ~ 5 msr





TOF (FHX-S2)

Preliminary spectra



Towards simpler system

(apr2012) M. Kobayashi

Hugen-good Pag Paul W gates



Currently separation of residual from the beam is insufficient

Summary

- We have developed a facility capable of (p,n) measurement on unstable nuclei at RIBF.
 - Neutron counter array "WINDS"
 - SHARAQ spectrometer
 - $-LH_2$ target
 - Beamline detectors (tracking 1MHz beam)
- ¹²Be(p,n) as the first measurement for n-rich nuclei
 ...Data reduction is in progress.

Collaborators

CNS, UT:	K.Y., S. Shimoura, S. Michimasa, S. Ota, Y. Sasamoto, H. Tokieda, H. Miya, S. Kawase, T.L. Tang, C.S. Lee, M. Takaki, K. Kisamori, Y. Kikuchi, Y. Kubota, T. Fujii, R. Yokoyama
RIKEN:	T. Uesaka, H. Sakai, M. Sasano, M. Dozono, H. Matsubara, M. Kurata-Nishimura, Y. Yanagisawa, N. Inabe, T. Kubo, H. Takeda, T. Ohnishi, H. Baba, Y. Shimizu
Dep. of Phys., UT: RCNP: Kyushu: Kyoto: MSU:	ZY. Xu K. Miki S. Sakaguchi T. Kawabata R.G.T. Zegers, S. Noji