RIBF ULIC Symposium/mini-WS Report

* English only

Date: 2011/08/29

Name of Applicant	Kenjiro Miki		
Affiliation	RCNP, Osaka University	e-mail	miki@rcnp.osaka-u.ac.jp
Tel	06-6879-8921	Fax	

Title	[RIBF-ULIC-mini-WS:004] Toward the understanding of the IVSMR from the experimental and theoretical point of view		
Date	2011 / 08 / 20		
Place	Room 203 in RIBF building, RIKEN, Wako, Saitama, Japan		
Language	[] English [O] Japanese		
HP address	http://indico.riken.jp/indico/conferenceDisplay.py?confld=538		
Contact Person(s) (Name, Affiliation)	Hideyuki Sakai (RIKEN)		

	Total:	~50,516	JPY
Financial support from ULIC	[Breakdown]		
·	SAGAWA, Hiroyuki	~15,580	
	MIKI, Kenjiro	~34,936	
Co-hosting / any financial support	Nana		
from other organization(s)	None		

Summary of discussions and its (expected) results:

The isovector spin monopole resonance (IVSMR) is an important topic of interest in the study of the collective excitation of nuclei. The (t,³He) cross section distributions obtained in the RIBF facility provide a crucial evidence for the IVSMR of the beta+ type. For the comparison between the experimental and theoretical results, it is necessary to deduce the cross section distribution under the theoretical framework, where we need to combine the nuclear-structure calculation with the nuclear-reaction calculation. We have already had sophisticated computer codes for each independently (a code by Prof. Sagawa for the nuclear structure, and the DWBA code "FOLD" for the nuclear reaction), but the method of combining them has not been established.

In this workshop, we firstly reviewed details of the FOLD calculations, and then discussed how we put into FOLD the theoretical nuclear-structure wave functions provided by Prof. Sagawa. Finally we have successfully established a method of deducing the theoretical cross section distribution about the (t,³He) reaction. We decided to hold another meeting on 6-9 September at Sichuan University (China), where we will perform the cross section calculation based on the method established in this workshop.

Participants list (Name, Affiliation):

Hiroyuki Sagawa	(University of Aizu)
Hideyuki Sakai	(RIKEN Nishina Center)
Kentaro Yako	(University of Tokyo)
Kenjiro Miki	(RCNP, Osaka University)