RIBF ULIC Symposium/mini-WS Report

\* English only

Date: 06/Jan/2012

Name of Applicant	Tomohiro Uesaka		
Affiliation	<b>RIKEN Nishina Center</b>	e-mail	uesaka@riken.jp
Tel	Ext. 4321	Fax	Ext. 4760

Title	[RIBF-ULIC-miniWS-007] Future Direction of Triplet Polarization Studies	
Date	October 7, 2011	
Place	Nishina Hall	
Language	[ ] English [ O ] Japanese	
HP address	http://	
Contact Person(s)	Takashi Wakui(Tohoku Univ.), Katsuhiro Kitagawa(Osaka Univ.),	
(Name, Affiliation)	Satoshi Sakaguchi(Kyushu Univ.), Tomohiro Uesaka(RNC)	

	Total :	137,210	JPY	
	[Breakdown] Travel			
Financial support from ULIC	Takaashi Wakui: 23,360			
	Satoshi Sakaguchi: 42,870			
	Kenichiro Tateishi: 33,000			
	Masataka linuma: 37	7,980		
Co-hosting / any financial support	None			
from other organization(s)				

Summary of discussions and its (expected) results:

Future directions of triplet polarization studies have been discussed from various viewpoints. The mini workshop started with a historical overview by M. linuma who made a pioneering work of the triplet polarization studies. S. Sakaguchi, T. Wakui and T. Kawahara presented current status of the RIKEN-CNS polarized target based on the triplet polarization and its applications to RI-beam experiments. A. Kagawa and M. Negoro talked on recent progress made by the Osaka group and possible applications of the triplet polarization to engineering and medical sciences. T. Yago discussed spin dynamics of the triplet state under wide-ranged magnetic field strength.

Participants shared views on the triplet polarization, why it is unique, why it is necessary, what are problems to be solved, and so on. One immediate outcome from the mini workshop is a launch of collaboration in development of a thin target crystal which is indispensable for low-energy scattering experiments.

This mini workshop has surely promoted establishment of "the triplet polarization community" which is comprised of nuclear physicists, chemists, biologists, and engineering scientists.

## Participants list(Name, Affiliation):

Masahiro Kitagawa	Graduate school of Engineering Science, Osaka University
Akinori Kagawa	Graduate school of Engineering Science, Osaka University
Makoto Negoro	Graduate school of Engineering Science, Osaka University
Kenichiro Tateishi	Graduate school of Engineering Science, Osaka University
Masataka linuma	Graduate school of Advanced Science of Matter Hiroshima University

Tomoaki Yago Takashi Wakui Megumi Takahashi Satoshi Sakaguchi Wei-Guo Jin Tomomi Kawahara Shinsuke Ota Hiroaki Matsubara Liu-Tsz Tang Shoichiro Kawase Yuki Kubota CheongSoo Lee Tomohiro Uesaka Masaki Sasano Masanori Dozono Daiki Nishimura

School of Science, Saitama University Cyclotron & Radioisotope Center, Tohoku University Cyclotron & Radioisotope Center, Tohoku University Graduate school of Science, Kyushu University School of Science Toho University Graduate school of Science, Toho University / RNC Center for Nuclear Study, University of Tokyo **RIKEN Nishina Center RIKEN Nishina Center RIKEN Nishina Center RIKEN Nishina Center** 

Please attach other documents as needed.