The 2nd MOST-RIKEN workshop on microscopic approaches to nuclear physics and astrophysics (March 27-29, 2020)

3rd Floor, Brain Science Ikenohata Research Building (RIKEN Wako campus)

3rd Floor, Brain Science Ikenohata Research Building

RIKEN Wako campus

Building C56, RIKEN Wako Campus, Wako, Japan


One of the most fundamental goals of nuclear physics is to understand the strong force between nucleons and the structure of nuclei from QCD. The workshop is aimed to bridging the gap between the microscopic studies on nuclear forces based on QCD and the state-of-the-art ab initio models employed in nuclear structure and high-density matter studies. Recent advances on nucleon-nucleon forces from lattice QCD and chiral EFT, the ab initio calculations for finite nuclei and neutron star matter as well as their applications to astrophysical phenomena will be covered. It will allow fruitful discussions on the cutting-edge research and future implementation of the microscopic nucleon-nucleon forces to the ab initio models for finite nuclei and neutron star matter. 

This workshop will be the second edition of the workshop held in Peking University in April 2019.



An important goal of this workshop will be to strengthen the international collaborations on the relevant topics, including

— Hadron interactions: phenomenology, Lattice QCD and chiral EFT

— Nuclear structure and ab initio theories

— Neutron star and nuclear equation of state

— Nuclear astrophysics and matter evolution in the Universe


Hosted by

— MOST-RIKEN joint research project on ab initio theory in nuclear physics

— JSPS Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research (S) “From Quarks to Neutron Stars: Challenges in QCD”

— RIKEN Pioneering Project: Evolution of Matter in the Universe (REMU) (

— RIKEN Interdisciplinary Theoretical and Mathematical Sciences (iTHEMS) (

The 2nd MOST-RIKEN workshop on ab initio theory in nuclear physics
  • Ang Li
  • Atsushi Tamii
  • DongLiang Fang
  • Eiji Kido
  • Gaoqing Cao
  • Hajime Sotani
  • Hajime Togashi
  • Haozhao Liang
  • Hikaru Sakakibara
  • Hui Tong
  • Jie Meng
  • Jinniu Hu
  • Kei Iida
  • Koutarou Kyutoku
  • Pengwei Zhao
  • Shan-Gui Zhou
  • Shigehiro Nagataki
  • Shunji Nishimura
  • Sibo Wang
  • Tadaaki Isobe
  • Tetsuo Hatsuda
  • Tomoya Naito
  • Yan Lyu
  • Ying Zhang
  • Yixin Guo
The agenda of this meeting is empty