23-24 May 2011
RIKEN Nishina Center
Asia/Tokyo timezone

g-factor measurements for highly spin-aligned isomeric states

24 May 2011, 11:45
RIBF Building 2F Conference Room (RIKEN Nishina Center)

RIBF Building 2F Conference Room

RIKEN Nishina Center

2-1 Hirosawa, Wako, Saitama 351-0198, Japan


Yuichi Ichikawa (RIKEN Nishina Center)


The nuclear spin alignment in an excited state results in anisotropy of angular distribution in Gamma-ray emission, which provides us a chance to measure nuclear observables through various spectroscopic techniques. Especially the time-differential perturbed angular distribution (TDPAD) method is one of the major techniques to determine a g-factor of an isomeric state with a lifetime of ns - ms order, where the g-factor is determined from a time dependence of anisotropy of de-excitation Gamma rays emitted from spin-aligned nuclei precessing in an external magnetic field. In this study, we have developed a novel method to produce an RI beam with high spin-alignment, that is the two-step fragmentation method with a technique of momentum-dispersion matching. The experiment to apply the new method to study of 32Al was carried out with BigRIPS in RIKEN RIBF. The isomeric states of 32Al was produced by two-step fragmentation of a primary beam of 48Ca via 33Al, then its g-factor was determined for the first time using the TDPAD method. The experimental results will be given in the presentation.

Primary author

Yuichi Ichikawa (RIKEN Nishina Center)


Akihiro Yoshimi (RIKEN Nishina Center) Daisuke Kameda (RIKEN Nishina Center) Dimiter Balabanski (INRNE, Bulgaria) Georgi Georgiev (CSNSM, IN2P3-CNRS, France) Hideki Ueno (RIKEN Nishina Center) Hiroaki Iijima (Tokyo Institute of Technology) Hironori Hayashi (Tokyo Institute of Technology) Hiroshi Watanabe (RIKEN Nishina Center) Hiroyuki Takeda (RIKEN Nishina Center) Jean-Michel Daugas (CEA, France) Koichiro Asahi (Tokyo Institute of Technology) Kunifumi Suzuki (Tokyo Institute of Technology) Masato Tsuchiya (Tokyo Institute of Technology) Masayasu Ishihara (RIKEN Nishina Center) Mustafa Rajabali (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium) Naoki Fukuda (RIKEN Nishina Center) Naoto Inabe (RIKEN Nishina Center) Nori Aoi (RIKEN Nishina Center) Raphael Chevrier (CEA, France) Takeshi Furukawa (Tokyo Institute of Technology) Takeshi Inoue (Tokyo Institute of Technology) Tetsuya Ohnishi (RIKEN Nishina Center) Toshiyuki Kubo (RIKEN Nishina Center) Tsubasa Nanao (Tokyo Institute of Technology) Yuji Ishii (Tokyo Institute of Technology)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.