Studying clustering in O-14 and Be-7 nuclei using resonant scattering and Coulomb excitation

Jun 7, 2018, 2:54 PM
Kunibiki Messe (Matsue)

Kunibiki Messe


Oral contribution Session 13


Tan Ahn (University of Notre Dame)


Clustering in light nuclei is a prominent feature that manifests itself through various physical observables, which serve as a guide and constraint for nuclear theory. More precise data on these observables, especially for unstable nuclei, are needed to better constrain nuclear theory and thus give us a more fundamental understanding of what causes nuclei to cluster. In order to obtain more data on cluster states in light nuclei, we performed an experiment using resonant alpha scattering with a C-10 radioactive beam to search for cluster states in the proton-rich nucleus O-14 where the structure and properties of levels above the alpha threshold are not well known. Scattering cross sections for the C-10 + alpha resonant scattering were measured with the Prototype Active-Target Time-Projection Chamber. Preliminary results for the analysis of this experiment will be presented. A second experiment using Coulomb excitation with a radioactive beam of Be-7 will be presented. The electromagnetic transition strength to the first excited state was measured and the current results will be compared to various ab-initio nuclear model predictions. These predictions show that clustering and thus the inclusion of continuum states is important for reproducing several electromagnetic observables.

Primary author

Tan Ahn (University of Notre Dame)


Anna Simon (University of Note Dame) Dan Bardayan (University of Notre Dame) Dr Daniel Bazin (Michigan State University) Jacob Long (University of Notre Dame) Joshua Bradt (NSCL, Michigan State University) Lisa Carpenter (NSCL, Michigan State University) Matthew Hall (University of Notre Dame) Maxime Brodeur (University of Notre Dame) Samuel Henderson (University of Notre Dame) Saul Beceiro (NSCL, Michigan State University) Sebastian Aguilar (University of Notre Dame) Wanpeng Tan (University of Notre Dame) Wolfgang Mittig (NSCL, Michigan State University) Yassid Ayyad (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab)

Presentation materials