Constraining the $^{30}$P(p,$\gamma$)$^{31}$S Reaction Rate, via a Measurement of the $^{32}$S(p,d)$^{31}$S* Reaction

Not scheduled
Kunibiki Messe (Matsue)

Kunibiki Messe


Poster Contribution


Sean Burcher (University of Tennessee Knoxville)


Accurate modeling of classical nova nucleosynthesis is fundamentally dependent on the thermonuclear reaction rates of the nuclei involved. In particular it has been shown that the $^{30}$P(p,$\gamma$)$^{31}$S reaction rate is the largest source of uncertainty in the final abundance of nuclei created in a classical nova, involving an ONe white dwarf. The calculation of the $^{30}$P(p,$\gamma$)$^{31}$S reaction rate, at nova temperatures, requires knowledge of the spin and parity assignments and partial widths of the levels in $^{31}$S just above the proton threshold. To obtain the relevant nuclear data, a measurement of the $^{32}$S(p,d)$^{31}$S* reaction has been performed at the Texas A$\&$M Cyclotron Institue using a proton beam from the K150 cyclotron and a target consisting of ZnS deposited on a thin carbon backing. The newly commisioned, high-efficiency, particle-gamma array, Hyperion, was used in a configuration with 12 HPGe clover detectors and a dE-E telescope of segmented annular silicon detectors downstream of the target position for the detection of direct reaction products. In addition, a single silicon detector was placed upstream of the target for the detection of decay protons. Initial results from the experiment will be presented.
This material is based upon work supported by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Office of Nuclear Physic under contracts DE-FG02-96ER40983 (UTK), DE-AC05-00OR22725 (ORNL), DE-NA-0003780 (Notre Dame), DE-AC52-07NA27344 (LLNL), and DE-FG03-93ER40773 (TAMU), with additional support from The Welch Foundation, The National Science Foundation under PHY-1430152 (JINA-CEE), and the Laboratory Directed Research and Development Program of Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Primary authors

K.A. Chipps (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) R.O. Hughes (Lawerence Livermore National Laboratory) Sean Burcher (University of Tennessee Knoxville)


A. Saastamoinen (Texas A&M University) A. Simon (University of Notre Dame) C. Reingold (University of Notre Dame) H. Clark (Texas A&M University) H. Jayatissa (Texas A&M University) J. Burke (Lawerence Livermore National Laboratory) J. Hooker (Texas A&M University) J.A. Cizewski (Rutgers University) J.M. Allmond (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) K. Schmidt (Joint Institute for Nuclear Astophysics - Center for the Evolution of the Elements) K.L. Jones (University of Tennessee Knoxville) N. Cooper (University of Notre Dame) S. Ahn (Texas A&M University) S. Ota (Texas A&M University) S. Upadhyayula (Texas A&M University) S.D. Pain (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.