A Particle-Rotor Model Description of 29F *

Not scheduled
Kunibiki Messe (Matsue)

Kunibiki Messe


Poster Contribution


Paul Fallon (Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory)


Recent results from RIKEN/RIBF on the low-lying level structure of 29F, and state of the art Shell Model calculations using the SDPF-M effective interaction [1], suggest the extension of the N=20 Island of Inversion to the Z=9 Fluorine isotopes.

In this work we discuss the low-lying excitation spectrum of 29F in terms of a collective picture [2], with a level structure corresponding to the rotation-aligned coupling limit of the Particle Rotor Model (PRM) [3].

The Coriolis coupling effects on the proton d5/2 Nilsson multiplet give rise to a (favored) decoupled band, with its 5/2+ bandhead naturally emerging as the ground state. The first excited state corresponds to the anti-aligned 1/2+ configuration at an energy that depends directly on the core E(2+).
We find a consistent solution at a deformation of ε ~ 0.17, corresponding to an excitation energy of the 2+ in 28O at ~2.4 MeV, in line with the conclusions reached in Ref. [1].

PRM predictions for some spectroscopic observables will also be presented and discussed in the context of a Coulomb Excitation experiment approved at RIKEN [4]. If similar energetics and coupling conditions persist, a πd5/2 x νf7/2 double-decoupled structure in 30F is predicted with a 6- ground state.

  • This work is supported by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Nuclear Physics, under contract no DE-AC02-05CH11231.

[1] P. Doornenbal, et al., Phys. Rev. C95, 041301(R) (2017).
[2] A. O. Macchiavelli, et al., Phys. Lett. B775, 160 (2017).
[3] F. S. Stephens, Rev. Mod. Physics , 47, 43 (1975).
[4] H. L. Crawford, et al., RIBF164 proposal (2017).

Primary authors

Augusto Macchiavelli (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Heather Crawford (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Paul Fallon (Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory)


Chris Campbell (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) I-Yang Lee (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Marco Salathe (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Mario Cromaz (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Michael Jones (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Roderick Clark (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.